A Meme! (remember those??)

Sometimes you just need a little PROMPTING to get you to write, and if Ginger, Laura, and Carla can do it, I can to0!

Do you have any strange phobias? Bats flying at my head inside my house (outside, bats don’t bother me at all), centipedes creeeeep me out like WHOA, clowns? NO. NO CLOWNS.

Do you sleep with or without clothes on? I hate sleeping naked. My legs get sweaty when they touch each other and it makes me feel gross and… I can see this is headed to TMI territory so I’ll stop. But pjs, all the time. (No underwear though.)

If you are outside, what are you most likely doing? During the winter? Darting from my house to my car before my skin freezes. Spring/summer/fall, I’m outside with the kids. We go on lots of walks to the lake a few blocks from our house. We also spend lots of time in our screened porch. I love reading outside. Going for a long walk with a friend is one of my very favorite good-weather past times.

Simple but extremely complex. Favorite band? Are the Indigo Girls a band?

Do you believe in karma? Yes. I think so. I believe in a higher power, and the laws of attractions, and putting good energy out into the world, and all that. Is that karma? I also mostly believe in the “what goes around comes around” concept, though I know things don’t always work out so tidily.

Who is your celebrity crush? Tina Fey. Connie Britton. The Dowager Countess. Oh… you mean men? Hmmm. I don’t think I have a current celebrity man fascination. (I do not get the Ryan Gosling thing at all- AT ALL. AT ALLLLLL.)

What’s a sound you hate; sound you love? Hate- that squeaky noise sweaters make when they are wet and being pulled from the washing machine. Love- my baby’s giggles, Marin’s still-little voice, the big girls singing in the car after dark…

Choose: East Coast or West Coast? Minnesota? I’m honestly not sure which coast I’d prefer. New England seems to be more my aesthetic, but… isn’t the ocean warmer on the West Coast? Also, the East Coast seems too crowded for me.

What was the last book you read? We shall not mention the FUCKING NICHOLAS SPARKS BOOK I JUST READ BECAUSE WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING? Ahem. I also recently read The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey and loved, loved, loved it.

Do you like the smell of gasoline? Um… no? Well, I guess it’s ok. But other times I don’t like it. Hmmmm. (Is this a thing, people loving the smell of gasoline?)
Do you have any nicknames? I don’t think I do right now. I had friends that called me Chopsticks when I was a teenager, though I cannot remember why. And Stardust was my stripper name, back in the day. (Not really.)

What was the last movie you saw? I’m trying to think, and I’m thinking, and here I am STILL thinking… I vaguely remember a movie theater in my not-so-distant past… I was with friends. I ran into an ex-coworker of David’s…. But I don’t remember which movie we saw. Hey! But I’m all caught up on Downton Abbey. That’s something, right?

What’s the worst injury you’ve ever had? I have to go with all the shit I endured due to the complications of my C-section with Marin. I had, like, 4 additional surgeries after she was born and it suuuuuucked.


What’s the last thing you purchased? We ALMOST purchased a new mattress (KING! I WON! WE’RE GETTING A KING!) last weekend. Almost doesn’t count though, does it? Hmmm. I guess it was probably groceries then.

Can you touch your nose with your tongue? No. Sad panda. I can make an unusually loud clucking/popping sound with my tongue and the roof of my mouth though. Impressed? (Ten year old you would have been impressed with ten year old me, I can assure you.)

Is there anything pink within 10 feet of you? Both Kate and Joan are sitting next to me, both wearing some pink on their pjs.

What’s your favorite animal? Like, animals as pets? I grew up with lots of dogs and a (singular) cat, so our family definitely leaned more towards the dog camp. We also had a talking quaker parrot. Now I own a cat, and she’s a good cat, but GAH animals. AMIRIGHT? It’s hard for me to feel like taking care of one more living thing when I have a needy baby in the house. (She really is a good cat! I just… God, I’m an awful person. I KNOW THIS. But please don’t puke on my floor you stupid fucking hairy beast.)

Or, wait, does this question mean like a ZOO animal? Because polar bears win! I am fascinated by watching them swim. Same with dolphins.

What were you doing last night at 12 AM? Sleeping!… as I am most night. Except for the nights when Olive decides to holler at us. Girlfriend needs a new hobby.

What’s a song that always makes you happy when you hear it? Oh! I musical question I have an answer for! Look at me go! Ok, but now I can’t remember the name of the song. The Four Non Blondes one? About stepping outside and taking a deep breath and getting real high? Anyone? Ooooo! And! Blister in the Sun by Violent Femmes. (And now I just cheated and read Laura’s post and Blind Melon is another one for me too.)

What is the single best decision you have made in your life so far? Marrying David.

What’s the last song you listened to? Kate, singing the song she’s going to audition to in the school Talent Show- “Safe and Sound” by Taylor Swift… (I had to ask her.)

What is your current desktop picture? An old one from when East Coast Anne visited a few years ago of all of us together. Actually, it’s this one:

IMG_5358
 

You accidentally eat some radioactive vegetables. They were good, and what’s even cooler is that they endow you with the super-power of your choice! What is that power? I listened to a This American Life once where they talked about super-powers and the age-old flight vs. invisibility debate… and of those two, I think I’d pick… BOTH! Ha. Invisibility sounds more intriguing to me than flight, but no one can argue the convenience of flight. If pressed to choose, I’d pick invisibility. People watching at it’s finest! And as far as other super-powers go… I have no imagination in this area.

You can re-live any point of time in your life. The time-span can only be a half-hour, though. What half-hour of your past would you like to experience again? Hmmm. Maybe the 30 minutes during one of our babies newbornhood? Or maybe an afternoon with them at rolly-polly 6 months? I’m not sure.

You just got a free plane ticket to anywhere. You have to depart right now. Where are you gonna go? Wait! Hold up. Just me? Can I bring someone? Has someone arranged child care? If so, who has volunteered to take my four hooligans? And Olive… she’s kind of a screamy handful for people that she doesn’t know well. Hmmm. (DO YOU SEE WHAT PARENTHOOD DOES TO ONE’S SENSE OF SPONTANEITY AND ADVENTURE??) Ok, all of that aside, I think I’d go to Greece. Or Spain. Or maybe Florida. I need sun and warmth, you see. Beyond that, I’m not picky. (FEBRUARY IS KILLING ME CAN YOU TELL?)

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Meme! (remember those??)

Leave a Reply

