First World Problems

AHHHHH. This winter, man. I just can’t even anymore.

1. I wouldn’t say I’m depressed, really. Just… full of the BLAHs. I mean, seriously. I know, I KNOW, we live in Minnesota, and in Minnesota winter is traditionally brutal. Right? Right! But usually we have either lots of very cold days OR lots of snow. This year we’ve had lots and lots of BOTH. It’s the coldest winter we’ve had in 37 years AND we have above average snow fall. So. While the rest of the world is enjoying spring, we are gazing forlornly at like four feet (or more, if it’s been plowed higher) of gross dirty snow. It’s seriously black and gritty this time of year. And there is just SO MUCH mud and slop in our future before we can even dream of seeing grass again. Ya know?

2. On top of the weather (or possibly BECAUSE of it?), I’ve had a record number of migraines this winter. I usually have them fairly well-managed. Typically I get the beginnings of one about twice a month, and I’m able to stave off 3/4ths of those. Lately I’ve had like 2-4 migraines PER WEEK. Going to bed with an ice pack under my head/neck has become such a habit that I almost… like it? What is this, some migraine sufferers version of Stockholm Syndrome? I’ve heard that other migraine sufferers have had more than usual too, and I have a theory that all the temperature swings (or something fancier like barometric pressure changes) are causing this.  If you live in a similar climate and ALSO have had an increase of migraines this winter, I’d love to hear it. Validation is good, right?

3. I’ve become an awful friend in the process of all of this. I mean, I still regularly see my in-town friends (it’s one of my top three Winter Survival Techniques: SEEING HUMANS), but I seem incapable of doing anything that is not directly in front of my face. It seems that managing four kids and a busy household plus low-energy-winter-blahs makes me… the opposite of proactive. The good news is that the kids’ schedules, while busy, are not overwhelming. We seem to be in a good rhythm, and I am glad for the structure it provides our days and weeks during this otherwise bleak time.

4. It’s currently snowing outside. For real. I’m also recovering from a pretty awful migraine and am only able to type this due to the fact that Olive is currently mesmerized by Frozen (THANK YOU AMAZON PRIME).

5. Ok, fine, it’s not ALL bad around here. A few good things are: our puppy Nina (she’s turned out to be such a good fit for us), all the good books I’ve read lately (the reading tab above is current), our new fireplace that has kept us all toasty warm this winter (and made us realize how COLD we’ve been other winters), and the fact that I’m headed to Vegas with my husband and two other couples in April. Also, one of my close friends is having a baby soon, and she LIVES here, and the thought of having a wee newborn in my daily/weekly life is cheering. It’s been SO LONG since I’ve even held a little baby…

10 thoughts on “First World Problems

  1. I’m jealous of your reading list. I have not been reading so much … too much Veronica Mars and I got stuck on a massive book that I finally decided to give up on this week. What did you think of Heft?

      • The Luminaries. 800ish pages. I got halfway through, but just couldn’t slog on. It reads like a modern Dickens, which I actually liked, but I was 400ish pages in and realized I didn’t give two craps about any of the MANY characters or the central mystery. Done.

  2. This Winter has been all sorts of awful for us as well. I am not exaggerating (at least not much) when I say I can count the number of healthy days we’ve had since OCTOBER on my two hands. It has been stomach bug after cold after ear infections (both me and the baby) after hand foot mouth after cold after another stomach bug after some viral thing that caused a fever for four straight days after cold which is just now turning into a sinus infection. I know the baby is in daycare and the big one started K but seriously I am at my limit with illnesses.

    Oooh I am in need of new books! I tore my way through all of Tana French while pumping at work and I’m at 90% of her last one.

    It will be Spring someday. Lather, rinse, repeat.

  3. We are having ridiculously warm weather here in Southern CA (it was in the low 80s today) but although it is lovely now I am quite concerned about what this summer will bring for us. We don’t have central AC and I truly fear what will happen to my sanity and health if we have a really hot summer. Eight summers ago when I was pregnant with my first we had a couple of weeks of 110 degree plus temps and you have never seen a crankier person than I was. Please don’t let this warm, dry winter be a harbinger of the summer to come!

    Yea for babies though. That will be lovely. I recently had a friend’s newborn baby fall asleep on my chest and it was just heavenly. Makes me contemplate a fourth baby…

  4. I have the winter blues for possibly the first time. I am stuck in a dirty, unorganized house and, while you’d think since we’re stuck in here, I’d be able to tackle it all! Spend more time organizing! I cannot because we are all still here. I cannot clean up if nobody leaves! This winter (after New Year’s) we haven’t had anything super fun planned: no trips or out of town guests or any of the fun things to look forward to. Right now the one thing that is making me so super happy is planning our our summer: picking camp weeks, vacation weeks, concerts, day trips, pool days – all the fun things that get us out of the house and enjoying life and each other.

  5. This winter has been generally no. Existent here but still I’ve had a Crap ton of migraines. I blame the weather anyhow, because the fronts are making me crazy. I can tell if it’s going to rain better than the chick on Mean Girls.

Leave a Reply

