Grandma

You might remember me mentioning my grandma here before (especially here).  She is and always has been one of my favorite people on the planet, and I love– seriously LOVE– every moment I spend with her.  She’s hilarious and honest and not at all like a typical grandma in her thinking or personality.  The last few years, she’s made a special trip to come and stay with us for a few days each fall, and she and my daughter soak each other up for those days.

She was admitted to the hospital for a severe bladder infection on Saturday.  I talked to her Sunday morning and she was not AT ALL herself.  She’s never sounded so weak or so old.  (I talk to her on the phone for hours every month, so this was a stark contrast from her usual phone banter.)  She told me she hurt, she was too tired to remember what the doctors told her, and that she didn’t want to fight any illness, she just wanted to sleep.

My aunt decided to drive to town (she lives 200+ miles away) and camp out so she could advocate for Grandma and figure out what’s going on. (My grandpa doesn’t hear well and usually wasn’t at the hospital when the doctors came on morning rounds, anyway.)  This morning, Grandma was admitted to the heart wing and appears to be in some kind of heart failure.  I don’t know anything beyond that.

I know that old people get sick all the time and that it’s not usually any surprise.  My Grandma has always been extremely healthy.  She’s never had any major health problems and is as vibrant and alive as most 50 year olds.  This fall when she was visiting, my friend called to say her back yard was flooding.  Grandma, overhearing my end of the conversation, was all set to get her shoes on and go over to fill sandbags.  She’s not frail or elderly– in thinking or constitution– is what I’m saying.  Her sudden frailty has us all pretty worried.

Anyway, this could turn out to be nothing, or it could be very serious.  Any good thoughts, juju, prayers, etc that you can send her way would be appreciated!

10 thoughts on “Grandma

  1. Oh, I’m sorry. I hope that she is better soon. I was madly in love with my grandmother, I know what you mean. I’ll be thinking of her.

  2. I hope she can fight this and come through it good as new. I will be praying for her!

    My husband’s Grandma was 94 when she passed 2 years ago and she went from doing well, to not, quickly. From first major episode to the day she passed was about 2 months.

  3. I’m sorry; what a bad scene. I’m hoping for you that the way she feels is the way we feel when we get flu or something and think “OMG, I actually feel like death would not be so bad”—but things aren’t actually that bad, they just FEEL that bad.

    • This is EXACTLY where I went yesterday when she sounded so forlorn– I remembered being pregnant (w/ compromised immune system) and sick this winter and how WEAK and SICK I felt… so I was sure a few days on antibiotics and she’d be fine. The whole “transferring her to the heart wing” has me actually worried now, but hopefully that’s just a precaution and some tests will reveal she’s healthy as ever!

  4. Oh love. I’m so sorry. Inlove everything you’ve written about her and know how you must feel. You are in my thoughts, and so is she of course.

  5. We are thinking about you guys up here too. I agree with Swistle; I hope she’s just feeling poorly and isn’t actually as sick as she sounded. Although that’s a crappy way to feel still.

  6. Pingback: A NOT Baby-Related Post (Can You Believe It?) « Life in Tiny Town

Leave a Reply

