Annoying

Something that annoys me but there’s nothing I can do about it, making it more annoying/frustrating:

CDs and DVDs.  They are not durable.  Not durable AT ALL when it comes to allowing children to handle them.  They scratch and/or smudge so easily, and un-scratching or un-smudging is a pain in the ass and also only works some of the time.  (The main method we use is to rub tooth paste all over the CD/DVD, rinse, and dry.)  And also, I don’t WANT to limit the kids’ access to them; I’d rather they handle choosing and putting in whatever movie/music they want while I sit here in the other (QUIET!) room.

The thing that really sucks is that in terms of being damage-proof, VHS tapes are where it’s AT.  Those things last FOREVER, and unless they get smashed and/or the tape gets pulled out, there’s basically no ruining them.  Seriously, long after life ceases to exist here on Earth, some aliens are going to finally discover our little planet.  When the go through our left-over rubbish, they’ll pull out a VHS tape and VCR and plug it into their on-board electricity maker on their flying-space-rocket-ship machine (can you tell sci-fi isn’t my thing?), and that sumbitch will play just as it does today.  Good luck finding a single CD/DVD that isn’t scratched or smudged though.

I can’t tell you how many CDs/DVDs our kids have smudged or scratched.  Or, wait, YES I CAN.  ALL OF THEM.

Sigh.

11 thoughts on “Annoying

  1. I copy my kids cd’s and give them the copies to play. Probably not legal, but I would be in the poor house if I had to replace all the ruined cd’s in our house.

  2. This drives me SO CRAZY. SO CRAZY. I remember thinking when DVDs/CDs came out, “Oh, good, now I’ll get all my stuff on DVD/CD and never have to replace it again!” And I have replaced some of them THREE OR FOUR TIMES, while our videotapes STILL WORK.

    It reminds me of an old cartoon, I think a New Yorker, where an old-fashioned-looking guy is working on a phonograph, and there’s a bunch of more modern stuff behind him: DVD player, VCR, CD player, etc. And he’s saying to some guy, “Oh, yeah, those—but we need to sell THIS first.” They probably HAVE THE DURABLE TECHNOLOGY and are DELIBERATELY SCREWING WITH US.

    • I realize lots of people just download their music, but that doesn’t work so well for kids, when they want to listen to it in the car, in their room, in the family room stereo. They do have iPods (knock-offs), and we do immediately burn their new stuff to those before they get scratched, but it seems so… horrible that the product we’re paying MONEY FOR (the CD/DVD) is ruined so easily.

  3. I am old, so I remember when CDs and DVDs became the next big thing. They were marketed as so much more durable than tapes and VCR tapes. What a crock that was! I have tapes that still work just fine (and an old car with a tape player) whereas the CDs we bought skip and scratch and generally suck. Now I just put everything new on the iPod, computer and DVR and eagerly await the total death of CDs and DVDs. Feel like we were totally sold a bill of goods with that technology (rant ended . . . for now).

  4. Unless of course you watch your VHS tape over and over so many times you wear it out.. Like we did with Dirty Dancing 🙂

  5. Does the toothpaste thing really work? you just smear it on there and then rinse it off? I need more information about this! So many scratched dvd’s and it drives me crazy!

    • Yes, it works, but not 100%. You just gently rub the tooth paste in little circles around the entire disc and then rinse it off and gently dry. I think there’s a teeny bit of… grain to tooth paste, so it sort of buffs out the scratches….

  6. Yes, I’ve never heard of the toothpaste thing. Is there some science behind that? I mean, I don’t really care about science but, it seems strange… But, I’m sure willing to try.

    • I’m not sure where I heard it, but just rub a little bit of tooth paste in little circles on the whole disc, then rinse off and dry. The tooth paste has a slight grain to it, and it gently buffs the scratches off. I THINK that’s how it works anyway. 🙂

  7. You know what I find even more unfair? The fact that the DVDs and CDs I like get scratches on (RIP Moulin Rouge soundtrack), yet that damn Dora DVD, and ALL THREE High School Musical DVDs are still going strong, seemingly indestructible, despite many, many (MANY) watchings. In fact, I had to sit through HSM 2 AGAIN this very evening (I can’t see it, just hear it, but that might actually be worse. Hard to tell. But definitely no scratches, that’s for sure).
    There’s a conspiracy, I tell you, a conspiracy… (oh and yes, I still have mix tapes I very unprofessionally put together in my 1980s youth that work JUST FINE thank you very much).

Leave a Reply

