We Have a BABY!

There’s SO MUCH to tell you all, including finally coming clean about the secret I’ve been keeping (which is that after 2 c-sections we planned and succeeded in having a homebirth this time around), and WHY I’ve been keeping it a secret, AS WELL AS the birth story itself, but right now I’m going to give you the briefest details and then head back to bed to snuggle my baby.

Yesterday afternoon at 2:37pm in a birth pool in my living room, surrounded by 3 midwives, 2 doulas (all dear sweet friends) and my husband, I gave birth to our fourth child.  I deliver her myself and announced to the room that “It’s a GIRL!”  She weighs 7lbs 12 ounces, is 21 inches long and will remain nameless for at least a little while longer.

Around 4:30pm she was introduced to her sisters (who spent the day with friends and are currently with grandparents).  They were delighted by her, and I cried when they met.

I have so, so much more to tell you all, but I’m not even exaggerating a little when I say this post took me ALL DAY to write, what with all the newborn grintching to attend to, along with yummy food that friends delivered today that David served me in bed.  So, for now I’ll share a few photos and call it a day:


(Brand new, checking her out)


(Awe at meeting their new sister)


(My four girls)

(Enjoying some snuggles)

38 thoughts on “We Have a BABY!

  1. Congratulations!!! It sounds like you had a precious experience!! I’m so happy for you that you’ll have wonderful memories of your last baby being born! She is beautiful! Congratulations!!!!!

  2. Congratulations! Four girls are SO much fun–I grew up as the oldest of four girls and it was such an awesome experience. Your girls will have such a special bond 🙂

  3. Congratulations, she is gorgeous. I love the look on Joan and Kate’s faces in the second picture. They’re looking at you and at their sister like they cannot believe that she’s actually real, or something. Or like they’re amazed that a real baby came out. Oh, I’m not explaining this well. I love their expression, and I’ll leave it at that!

  4. I had a hunch this was going to happen! I was on to your secret the whole time… and I am SO SO exquisitely happy for you. I am crying with joy right now. Hugs all around, and such huge congratulations!

  5. She is GORGEOUS! Your whole family is just stunning. Four girls! Oh, what a lovely set of sisters they are.

    I LOVE the birth story. I knew you wanted a different kind of birth experience this time around, but I didn’t know it would be THAT different. I can’t wait to hear the details!

  6. Congrats a hundred times over! I can’t wait to hear the whole story and see more pictures of all your beautiful girls. (And I was kind of hoping you’d have a girl. My little sister was born 7 years after my older sister and I, and I truly believe that being the same gender helped us bridge the gap in ages. )

  7. That picture of the three older girls meeting the baby: the expressions on their faces made me TEAR UP!!

    And I love that last one of you and the baby! You’re so HAPPY!

  8. This is SPECTACULARLY wonderful news. You and your girls would make anyone want to have four girls. Congratulations on that gorgeous baby and your success at the birth you wanted.

  9. She’s beautiful!

    Oh, I was SO curious to know how you were going to have her! I hope you’ll share more of the story with us.

    What an amazing thing you got to do, having her at home like that. Congrats, that’s so awesome!

  10. Enjoy that baby girl!! Congratulations to you and your family 🙂 Of course, I can’t wait to hear all the details but for now, lots of snuggling are in order!!!

  11. The baby is here!!!!! So very excited for you, and your entire family. These pictures are absolutely gorgeous, the expression on your girls’ faces are just the best!! Just beautiful.
    Best wishes to you, your FOUR girls, and their daddy. I can’t wait to hear all about your new daughter!!

  12. Pingback: 18 Days Post Birth (with photos from my Blessingway) « Life in Tiny Town

  13. Pingback: Year End, Again (2011 Edition) « Life in Tiny Town

Leave a Reply

