Grateful Sunday

This week I am grateful for:

:: The opportunity to witness the hard work of dear friends turn into an ACTUAL, new, functioning group in Southern Minnesota; and that I get to be a part of this cool founding group (it’s a birth collective we’ve been working on for the last year or so).

:: Mature people.

:: Sitting side by side next to my husband, our babies all asleep upstairs (SHHH DON’T WAKE OLIVE), and both of us clicking away on our laptops, working and yet being together.

:: Hearing about a brave and beautiful friend’s trip to Australia (with THREE kids under age 5!) (and her husband didn’t go with her!), thanks to the magic of Facebook, chatting, and blogs… I do heart technology.

:: Cooler temps that mean fall foods (soup!), hot chocolate with marshmallows, getting out the kids’ winter clothes, and plans for baking an apple crisp this week.

:: A certain 5 year old’s healed elbow, and the fact that it no longer contains pins nor a cast, and for the bravery of said 5 year old, in all she’s endured in the last month.

:: The opportunity to meet with some other Minnesota bloggers (my first time meeting internet people!), and the sparks of new, real-life friendships that began with one dinner, despite the fact that my first and only drink left me nearly shitfaced, and I had to be the one that was all “Um? Food? Order? Soon? PLZ KTHX.” (I felt fine and not-drunk after some food, thanks for asking.)

:: Texting.

:: Blanket forts (that are put away by my husband).

:: Baby signs, and how they allow me to peek into my baby’s brain. This week we’ve spent a great deal of time talking about how my coffee is “hot” (she also now does “eat”, “sad”, and “please”.)

:: This photo:

:: And this one:

9 thoughts on “Grateful Sunday

  1. You have such a beautiful family. The picture with the cast is so sweet: a snapshot of this very brief moment in your lives.

    I am jealous of your cooler weather. My brain is screaming “Fall!!!” I am craving boots and sweaters and pumpkin muffins and apple cider. But it was 100 degrees here this weekend so my body is still firmly in summer mode.

    • Oh, I didn’t think about the cast like that… in fact, it’s already gone! She had it taken off last week! I guess I AM glad we have a few snaps of it.

      Also, I love fall, and love that we live somewhere that HAS fall… too bad it means winter is on the way though. UGGGG.

Leave a Reply

