Blabbering About the Blathering

I’ve been home from The Blathering for over 10 days, which is like ancient history in Internet Time, but none-the-less, I’d thought I’d say a few words about it. In a nutshell: it was awesome.

A beautiful resort on the water? Rooming with Jenna? Afternoons by the poolside? SOUTHERN FOOD? A watertaxi that takes us to town? An enchanting city that is so preserved it feels like stepping back in time? MICHELLE AND HILLARY FOR AN ENTIRE WEEKEND? I mean, seriously, what’s not to love?

I ran through an airport but didn’t miss my flight. I got to know Erin while surprise drunk. (It is TOO a thing. You know, like when you don’t REALIZE you are drunk until you stand up? Yeah, that.) I developed a habit of scaring the shit out of people. (Sorry ladies… you know who you are.) I learned what a Tervis was. I ate fried green tomatoes, shrimp and grits, biscuits and gravy, CHICKEN AND WAFFLES.

I was a part of so many great conversations, many of which ended too soon (LAURA, I’m looking at YOU.) We took a self-guided walking tour around the battery, and then a horse drawn carriage tour (CRUELTY TOUR WAS AWESOME!) around the battery, all in the same day. We played in a fountain, thanks to Jenna’s fearless leadership.

I bowled with Maggie, Tara (owner of awesome socks), Jenna, Nora, and Arwen (and I got a gutter ball like every other frame). I bought Charleston earrings. I had a great poolside chat with Jenna and Jennie. I got separated from Jenna at the airport, and security wouldn’t let me back out to say goodbye, so we had to do it, without touching, with just a tape rope between us, all romantic-comedy style. I was so busy having a beer with April, Ginger, and Jennie at the airport that I almost missed my flight home…

As everyone has been saying, it was lovely to have a smaller group this year. It was… cozier, somehow. I got to reconnect with many of the ladies I had already met last year (Jess! Kori! Jen! Elizabeth! Miranda! Caitlin! Sara!) as well as meet so many great new ladies (Julie! Elsha! Other Tara! Yoga Jen! ALL OF YOU!) (Here’s where naming-names gets tricky because you just can’t name EVERYONE… and yet I really did talk to everyone and had a great time no matter who I was with… it’s a special group of women, that’s for sure.)

I didn’t bring my camera, and I only took a handful of iPhone photos, so I don’t have much to share. But I cannot remember the last time I had a weekend where I was so damned HAPPY from beginning to end. Or a weekend where seriously EVERYTHING I ate was so delicious.

Hat tip to the organizers for planning such a fun, warm, welcoming event. And thanks to everyone else for making it such a wonderful weekend. Til next year, friends!

(P.S. If you’re ever in MN….)

7 thoughts on “Blabbering About the Blathering

  1. Aw, I love this. What a great year this was. This was the first time I wasn’t ready to go home. I think I need to spend 10 days in Seattle.

  2. I think this means we have to hang out more next year, yes? I always love talking to you…I don’t know if you know this, but I have seriously been reading your blog FOREVER so I was a bit starstruck meeting you in NOLA. Loved getting to know you on a more personal level this year.

Leave a Reply

